Bookmark and Share

Officer Recommendations

The All-Church Nominating Committee (ACNC) is seeking your suggestions for Brick Church leaders. Your involvement is crucial to identify the best possible candidates whom God is calling to take positions of responsibility at The Brick Church. The ACNC is identifying candidates for Deacons, Ruling Elders, Trustees, and ACNC members.

Please prayerfully consider recommending members of The Brick Church as candidates for these positions. Important criteria to consider include commitment to the Church, regular attendance at Worship, time and willingness to serve, and personal characteristics of dedication, good judgment, and the ability to work well with others. Self-nominations are also accepted.

The deadline for recommendation submissions is March 2, 2018. Completed forms can be left at the Reception Desk in the Garden Room and marked “ACNC.” You can also fill out the form on-line by clicking here. Please contact any of the ACNC members listed below to provide suggestions or to answer any questions.

Co-Chairs: Susan Crary and Debbie Seraphim

Members:  Karee Auth, Sarah Blais, Colette Bryce, Pam Dickson-Thorpe, Pam Ferguson, Valerie Mason, and David Morgan

Ex-officio:  Rev. Douglas King, Anita Brickell, and Ellsworth Stanton III

Description of Church Officers

Each of the following offices has its own distinct calling and scope of responsibility.
No hierarchical relationship among them should be implied.

Ruling Elder
The Session of the Brick Church consists of 24 Ruling Elders (three classes of 8) serving three-year terms, 1 Youth Elder serving a one-year term, and includes the Senior Pastor (the Moderator), the Senior Associate Pastor, the Associate Pastors and the Clerk. The Session is responsible for the total church life of the congregation: the admission and dismissal of members; times and places of Worship, including the administration of the Sacraments; the use of the Church facilities; the budget; and all policies, including personnel, relating to the life of the Church. The Church constitution states that "Ruling Elders should be persons of faith, dedication and judgment. Their manner of life should be a demonstration of the Christian gospel, both within the Church and in the world."
The Board of Deacons consists of 27 Deacons (three classes of 9) serving three-year terms and one Youth Deacon serving a one-year term and includes the Senior Associate Pastor as an advisory member. The Deacons are essentially the Church’s arm of compassion, a service group ministering to the congregation and to those outside the church through its outreach programs. Established ministries of the Deacons include (Inreach) Lay Pastoral Care, Youth and New Member ministries; (Outreach) Christmas Party, Church of the Living Hope, Jan Hus Homeless Program, NCS Wednesday Night Dinner Program, Presbyterian Hope in Action, Search and Care and New York Common Pantry.  The Church constitution says of Deacons that “Persons of spiritual character, honest repute, exemplary lives, brotherly and sisterly love, warm sympathies and sound judgment should be chosen for this office.”

The Board of Trustees consists of 12 Trustees (three classes of 4) serving a three-year term.  Members of the Board of Trustees are the Directors of The Corporation of The Brick Presbyterian Church in the City of New York. The Trustees have among their responsibilities: monitoring the finances of the Church, including participation in planning, stewardship and oversight processes, fiduciary responsibility for conserving and enhancing the Churchs physical properties and financial assets, including matters relating to insurance coverage, major plant and capital replacements, and development of programs to encourage bequests.

search login