All-Church Nominating Committee

Call for Nominations

The All-Church Nominating Committee (ACNC) is currently accepting recommendations for candidates for Elders, Deacons, Trustees, and the All-Church Nominating Committee.  For Elders and Deacons, the ACNC is accepting recommendations of YOUTH CANDIDATES as well.  As you fill out the form, please comment on the candidate by touching on the below traits to the extent you can:


I. Commitment to the Church

  • Attendance at services of Worship
  • Participation in Church activities
  • Financial support of the Church
  • Leadership in positions previously or currently held

II. Personal Characteristics and Skills

  • Maturity of judgment and personal integrity
  • Willingness to work with others
  • Willingness to learn
  • Ability to complete projects
  • Openness to new ideas

III.  Other Qualifications and Considerations

  • Leadership ability
  • Time and willingness to serve
  • Service in outside organizations
Enter candidates full name

Co-Chairs: Cynthia Watson and Helen Elmiger

Members: Susan Appleby, Jonathan Bean, Patrick Blott, Scott Froelich, Scrip Gonzalez, Amy Johnson, Grace Sarno

Ex-officio: Rev. Dr. Thomas Evans, Dr. Tom Robinson, Pam Ferguson,

Description of Church Officers

Each office has its own distinct calling and scope of responsibility; no hierarchical relationship is implied.

Ruling Elder

The Session of the Brick Church consists of 24 Ruling Elders (three classes of 8) serving three-year terms, one or two Youth  Elders  serving a one-year term, and includes the Senior Pastor (the Moderator), the Associate     Pastors and the Clerk. The Session is responsible for the total church life of the congregation: the admission of members, times, and places of Worship, including the administration of the Sacraments, use of the Church facilities, the budget, and all policies, including personnel. The Church constitution states that “…congregations should elect persons of wisdom and maturity of faith, having demonstrated skills in leadership and being compassionate in spirit.”


The Board of Deacons consists of  27 Deacons (three classes of 9) serving three-year terms and one or two Youth Deacons serving a one-year term and includes an Associate Pastor as an advisory member. The Deacons are the Church’s  arm of compassion, a service group ministering to the congregation and to those outside the church through its outreach programs. The Church constitution says of  Deacons that “Persons of spiritual character, honest repute, exemplary lives, brotherly and sisterly love, warm sympathies and sound judgment should be chosen for this office.”


The Board of Trustees consists of 12 Trustees (three classes of 4) serving a three-year term. Members of the Board of  Trustees are the Directors of  The Corporation of The Brick Presbyterian Church in the City of New York. The Trustees have among their responsibilities: monitoring the finances of the Church, including participation in planning, stewardship and oversight processes, fiduciary responsibility for conserving and enhancing the Church’s physical properties and financial assets, including matters relating to insurance coverage, major plant and capital replacements, and development of programs to encourage bequests.

ACNC Member

Ruling Elders, Deacons, Trustees, and members of next year’s ACNC are nominated by the current ACNC and elected by the congregation. The ACNC includes Clerk of Session, ex officio, plus the Senior Pastor, ex officio. It may also include the past ACNC chair (or senior co-chair), ex officio. In addition to ex officio members, the ACNC includes two Ruling Elders, one Deacon, and one Trustee, all chosen after recommendation by the respective board, and five at-large members.