Central to the Presbyterian tradition is leadership by members of the church, men and women elected by the congregation for particular kinds of service. The Presbyterian Church ordains men and women to the three offices that are reflected in the New Testament and have consistently been recognized by later generations of Christians – that of minister, elder and deacon.

Nomination and Election of Officers
Ruling elders, deacons and trustees are nominated to the congregation by the All-Church Nominating Committee and are normally elected by the congregation at its annual meeting in the Spring (April or May).

Ruling Elders 
Ruling Elders (“presbyters” in Greek, hence “Presbyterian”) are members of the congregation elected for a period of active service (usually three years), but ordained to the office for life. Together, the sitting elders comprise the Session, the governing leadership body of the congregation.

Ruling Elders 2022-2023:

Michael J. Appleby (Youth Elder)
Bret M. Barasch
Nicholas M. Berry
Elizabeth Boehmler
Theodore D. Clement
David Darst
Helen T. Elmiger
Karen Fang
Pamela Ferguson
Jay A. Galloway
Mimi Hah
Amanda Heath
Lindsay Higgins
Ben C. Huneke
Stefan Kruger
Jill W. Lampe
Lisa L. Margosian
Amy K. McDonald
David Morgan
Jane K. Muqaddam
Margaret E. Pennoyer
Elizabeth F. Stearns (Youth Elder)
Margaret D. Stocker
Christopher Thorpe
Cynthia Watson
Tanya S. Wells
Thomas E. Evans, Moderator and Senior Pastor
Adam D. Gorman, Associate Pastor
Dr. Kimberly Jackson, Associate Pastor
Thomas Robinson, Clerk of Session
Debra N. Seraphim, On-Call Clerk of Session

Deacons are also members of the church elected for a period of service (also usually three years), and ordained to the office for life. The sitting deacons comprise a Board of Deacons. Individually and as a board, deacons are called to the work of service and compassion, both to those within the congregation and beyond, to all who are in special need.

Board of Deacons 2022-2023:

Emily Abelson
Susan B. Appleby
Preston Blankenship
Virginia Breen
Julie T. Chang
Trish Chapman
Ann Darmstaetter
Marilyn T. Dikkers
Luc M. Dowling
Henry Greene
Maxime Guignand
Tiffany Hoke
Daniel Hoy
Ruth Jin
Sarah Johnson
Megan Kim
Alexander W. King
Leah Lee (Youth Deacon)
Marisa Leichtling
Liane McAllister
Sam Puopolo
Christopher L. Randall
David R. Rose
Bill Ryckman
Whitney Schwartz
Carla Stearns

In addition to these three ordained offices, The Brick Presbyterian Church also elects trustees to act as fiduciary officers of the church, managing the property, the endowment fund, and, with the session, the general finances of the congregation.

Board of Trustees 2022-2023:

Erik M. W. Caspersen, President
Kenneth W. Austin, Secretary
Henry C. Barkhorn III, Treasurer
Patrick D. Barrett
Jonathan S. Bean
Kevin R. Greene
Cathy Leonhardt
Christopher M. Mason
Elizabeth Philipp
Clare C. Pickering
Richard D. Rippe
Katherine E. Stitch
Susan P. Webb
Mario J. Verdolini, Jr. & E. Deane Turner, Legal Advisors
Thomas E. Evans, Senior Pastor